Legal History Resources

Available both in print and on CD-ROM, this work lists and describes the monographic and trial literature of American law published in this country or abroad, from its beginnings to the end of 1860. It also includes works on foreign, comparative and international law if published in this country.

Beale includes short biographies of early printers and lists of their law books. Also available in HeinOnline's Selden Society Collection (see BC Online Resources Tab)

Limited to American law and English common law in the Harvard Law Library collection in 1909, this catalogue is especially helpful for finding primary materials such as state session laws and court reports, editions of which are displayed in an immediately comprehensible form.

Contains a list of all historical and current state reports.

A two-volume index to the English Reports' 176 volumes that contain over 100,000 case from 1220 to 1867.

The German word Festschrift is now the universally accepted term in the legal academy for a published collection of legal essays written by several authors to honour a distinguished jurist or to mark a significant legal event. Until now, the numerous scholarly contributions to these volumes have not been adequately indexed. This Index fills that bibliographic gap, covering the period from the beginning of the genre to 2005.

A legal bibliography of the English-speaking world and the former British Empire, excluding only the United States post-Independence, with individual volumes devoted to Ireland and Scotland.

An alphabetical listing by title or author of works available at the time of its publication. Includes some annotated entries.

Most English legal texts before 1600, and many from the seventeenth century are written in law French, a dialect which differs considerably both from current French and from old Norman French. This manual is a revised and enlarged version of a first edition which was published in 1779, the first law French manual to appear since the eighteenth century.

A comprehensive, international, interdisciplinary reference work that includes approximately 1,000 articles on all aspects of legal history throughout the world from ancient to modern times. Articles deal with private law, public law, and constitutional/higher law throughout the world; each article is signed by one of the set's many noteworthy contributors, which include major scholars and experts.

Contains state-by-state listings of statutes, session laws and attorneys general reports and opinions.

Contains valuable bibliographical anecdotes and data about the reporters of England from 1066 through 1776.

Available both in print and on CD-ROM, this work lists and describes the monographic and trial literature of American law published in this country or abroad, from its beginnings to the end of 1860. It also includes works on foreign, comparative and international law if published in this country.

This collection, on CD-ROM, contains the full text of more than 700 agreements, some dating to the early 17th century

The publication makes available for the first time the full documentation of the cases and legal actions in which Lincoln participated. Contains more than 5,600 cases and legal matters, nearly 100,000 documents with nearly 250,000 pages, and a comprehensive reference section.