The United Nations is one of the most important sources of international law. It plays an important role in the development and application of the principles of international law. This site provides links to the full text of General Assembly and Security Council Resolutions, treaty texts, press releases, and other document collections. It also provides research guides and a document search engine.
The High Commissioner on Human Rights is the principal United Nations official with responsibility for human rights. This website provides links to important human rights documents, subject guides for human rights issues, and links to the websites for major United Nations human rights bodies.
A subsidiary organ of the United Nations, the ILC has been charged with the formulation of international legal principles in areas such as the law of the sea, diplomatic relaltions, the law of treaties, the relationship between states and international organizations, and the international criminal court. This website provides information on Commission activity, and includes the texts of multilateral treaties negotiated and drafted by the ILC.
Countries of the Western Hemisphere comprise this international organization that works for the economic, social, and political development of the region. The OAS website has links to its Charter, Inter-American treaties, Resolutions and Declarations.
The WTO is a multinational organization dedicated to the development of international trade relations. This website provides information on the structure and organization of the WTO, the text of WTO treaties, and the text of dispute resolution decisions.
The Council of Europe is the largest intergovernmental organization in Europe, consisting of forty four member states. It oversees the drafting and administration of international agreements such as the European Convention on Human Rights. The European Court of Human Rights is affiliated with the Council of Europe. This site contains links to news releases, official documents, texts of European conventions, and the decisions of the European Court of Human Rights.
The European Union, with its twenty five member states, has played an important role in the development of Europe after the Second World War. The EU strives to establish European citizenship, insure freedom, security, and justice for its citizens, promote social and economic progress, and assert Europe’s role in the world. This site provides links to the text of official EU documents, news releases, secondary legislation, and decisions of the European Court of Justice.
Created by the Library at the University of California, Berkeley, this site provides a list of links to the sites maintained by the European Union. In addition, this site also links to academic and commercial sites that deal with the European Union.