LibGuides: Research Support for Boston College Law School's Center for Experiential Learning: Immigration Clinic

Immigration Law Bibliography

Compiled by Karen Breda, Immigration Law Specialist Librarian.

Immigration Law Bibliography

Boston Immigration Court

The Executive Office of Immigration Review maintains a webpage on the Boston Immigration Court, including the clerk's office telephone and hours of operation, mailing address, driving and public transportation directions, courtroom etiquette, EOIR e-registration instructions, forms, contact information for legal aid organizations in MA & RI, the automated case status hotline and much more.

Boston Immigration Court webpage
Immigration Court Procedural Rules
(8 CFR 1003.12 - 1003.47)
Immigration Court Practice Manual
The ICPM is a comprehensive guide, published by the Office of the Chief Immigration Judge, which sets forth uniform procedures, recommendations and requirements for practice before the Immigration Courts.

Board of Immigration Appeals

Board of Immigration Appeals webpage
Board of Immigration Appeals Regulations
(8 CFR 1003.1 through 1003.8)
Board of Immigration Appeals Practice Manual
The practice manual guides attorneys in practice before the BIA

Regulations Governing Professional Conduct and Practice before the BIA and Immigration Courts

EOIR has promulgated licensing and registration requirements and its own disciplinary rules and procedures for practice before the BIA and the Immigration Courts.

Representation and Appearances
(8 CFR 1292.1 through 1292.6)
Professional Conduct Rules for Immigration Practitioners
8 CFR 1003.101 through 1003.109)

EOIR's Virtual Law Library

The EOIR maintains the Virtual Law Library, with I & N Decisions dating from 1955, subject indexes to the precedent BIA decisions, OCAHO decisions, DHS decisions, AAO, decisions, INS decisions and attorney disclipinary decisions, country conditions research, temporary protected status notices and an archive of the Immigration Law Advisor newsletter.

Virtual Law Library

Immigration Practice Guides

Kurzban's Immigration Law Sourcebook by Ira J. Kurzban
Call Number: KF4819 .K87
Publication Date: 2014
This comprehensive immigration law outline is widely regarded as "the bible of immigration law". It is available electronically on AILALink, and is on permanent reserve in the law library. Older editions circulate.
Immigration Practice Manual by MCLE
Call Number: KF4819.3 .I47
Publication Date: 2012
This two-volume practice guide covers relief under VAWA, family-sponsored immigration, special immigrant juveniles, relief from removal, hardship waivers, asylum and U visas, among other topics. Available in print and in e-book format on MCLE OnePass.
Representing Clients in Immigration Court by CLINIC
Call Number: KF337.5 .I45
Publication Date: 2013
This practice guide covers removal, grounds of inadmissibility, grounds for removal, waivers, cancellation and withholding of removal, administrative and judicial review of removal orders, asylum and voluntary departure, among other topics. Features sample motions and orders. Available in print and on AILALink.
Immigration Trial Handbook by Maria Baldini-Potermin
Call Number: KF8925 .E4 I486
ISBN: 9780314631831
Publication Date: 2014
This practice guide features checklists, practical tips and sample documents from the notice to appear and master calendar hearing through the administrative appeal. It is available in print and on Westlaw.
Filing Successful Provisional Waivers: A Practitioner's Guide by CLINIC
Call Number: KF4819 .F55
Publication Date: 2013
Covers types of waivers, documenting your case, filing procedures, RFEs and NOIDs, among other topics. Features sample affidavits, intake forms, and interview questions.

Immigration Law Current Awareness

Interpreter Releases by West
Call Number: KF4802 .I58
This is the premier immigration law newsletter. Many agency policy statements and otherwise unpublished agency materials may be found in this resource.
Bender's Immigration Bulletin by Matthew Bender
Call Number: KF4815 .I46
Like Interpreter Releases above, Bender's Immigration Bulletin selectively publishes immigration court decisions and other unpublished agency materials. Available in print in the law library and on Lexis Advance.

Family Immigration Resources

Immigration Law & the Family by Sarah Ignatius
Call Number: KF4819 .I36
Publication Date: 2014
Covers marriage- and family-sponsored immigration, waivers based on family relationships, derivative citizenship, among other topics. Features sample documents, checklists, practical advice and appendices of foreign laws concerning legitimation and adoption. Available in print and on Westlaw.

Asylum Law Resources

Asylum Case Law Sourcebook by Gerald Seipp
Call Number: KF4836 .A53 A78
Publication Date: annual
Digest of cases and BIA decisions on asylum law. Available in print and on Westlaw
Law of Asylum in the United States by Deborah E. Anker
Call Number: KF4836 .A96
Publication Date: 2011
Excellent treatise on asylum law. Available in print and on Westlaw.

Criminal Law and Immigration Resources

Crimes of Moral Turpitude by Norton Tooby
Call Number: KF4819 .A57 T66
ISBN: 1932437061
Publication Date: 2004-10-01
Digest of cases and agency decisions on whether specific state and federal crimes involve moral turpitude for immigration purposes. Available on NortonTooby.com (see librarian for password) and in print in the law library.
Immigration Consequences of Criminal Activity by Mary E. Kramer
Call Number: KF4819 .K73
ISBN: 9781573703055
Publication Date: 2012
This resource is a guide to representing foreign-born defendants in the criminal justice system and in immigration court. Available on AILALink and in print in the law library.
Aggravated Felonies by Norton Tooby
Call Number: KF4819 .T65
ISBN: 1932437088
Publication Date: 2006-03-01
Digest of cases and BIA decisions on whether specific state and federal crimes are aggravated felonies for immigration purposes. Available on NortonTooby.com (see librarian for password) and in print.

AILALink

AILALink is the American Immigration Lawyers Association's legal research platform. It includes the INA, immigration regulations, federal immigration cases, immigration agency decisions, other immigration agency materials and many essential immigration secondary sources, such as Kurzban's Immigration Law Sourcebook.

AILALink This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive web-based library of primary and secondary immigration law materials, AILALink is created by the American Immigration Lawyers Association. It includes the full text of Kurzban’s Immigration Law Sourcebook and many other books, as well as links to cases, statutes, regulations, forms and the newsletter Immigration Law Today. (BC Law Access)

Useful Online Guides

AIC's Legal Action Center Practice Advisories
There are practice advisories on such topics as the departure bar, DACA, voluntary departure, prosecutorial discretion and many more
AIC Legal Action Center's Litigation Issue Pages
These pages link to pleadings, agency decisions and opinions in emerging and "hot topic" scenarios such as mental incompetency in removal, motions to suppress in removal, and invoking and enforcing FOIA.
ACLU's Immigration Detention Page
The American Civil Liberties Union maintains a webpage for resources for those challenging immigration detention.
National Immigration Project's Legal Resource page
The National Immigration Project maintains a webpage of charts, guides, and advisories on a variety of immigration topics

Research Support for Boston College Law School's Center for Experiential Learning

Find Books & Other Materials at BC

Ask a Librarian

Do you have questions about immigration law research?