Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Help

About Us

The seven members of the Teaching & Research (T&R) department provide reference and research assistance to all members of the Boston College Law School community. All T&R librarians have a JD and an MS in Library & Information Science. 

Research Services

Below are examples of the type of research assistance T&R provides:

  • Consult on research and search strategy
  • Identify best starting points for legal research
  • Help locate specific legal materials
  • Advise on identifying and researching paper topics
  • Assist with law review citation checks and source collection

Instructional Services

The Reference Librarians are part of the Law School's instructional team and teach Advanced Legal Research as well as nine other specialized legal research courses.

Other instructional services the Reference Librarians provide include:

  • Subject-specific in-class research instruction at the request of faculty
  • Advanced research training for new law journal members and summer interns
  • Training for faculty research assistants
  • Individual research instruction as requested by students

Meet Us

Karen Breda

Legal Information Librarian & Lecturer in Law
617-552-4407 | karen.breda@bc.edu

Amy Bruce

Chairperson for Teaching & Research
Legal Information Librarian & Lecturer in Law
617-552-2896 | amy.bruce@bc.edu
Sherry Xin Chen's picture

Sherry Xin Chen

Legal Information Librarian & Lecturer in Law
617-552-2897 | sherry.xin.chen@bc.edu
Laurel Davis's picture

Laurel Davis

Legal Information Librarian & Lecturer in Law
617-552-4410 | laurel.davis.2@bc.edu

Stephanie Farne

Legal Information Librarian & Lecturer in Law
617-552-8607 | stephanie.farne@bc.edu
Mary Ann Neary's picture

Mary Ann Neary

Associate Law Librarian & Lecturer in Law
617-552-8612 | maryann.neary@bc.edu
Joan Shear's picture

Joan Shear

Legal Information Librarian & Lecturer in Law
617-552-2895 | joan.shear@bc.edu