LibGuides: Boston College Innocence Program: Multidisciplinary & Non-Legal Research

Finding Articles

BC Libraries subscribe to many articles databases and journals from law to the social sciences and far beyond.

Here are a few of the most efficient methods to use for a thorough article search:

BC Libraries Catalog
Search the Articles tab for the article title, author, or your keywords. This searches for articles across databases, including HeinOnline, JSTOR, and many social science databases.
Google Scholar
A good option for a broad search across scholarly literature. This will capture articles freely available online, as well as those in subscription databases (which you'll usually be able to access with your BC credentials).
Westlaw Law Reviews & Journals
Includes most law reviews and many practitioner journals.
Lexis Law Reviews and Journals
Includes most law reviews and many practitioner journals.
All BC Research Databases (A-Z List)
You can filter this database list by Subject (e.g., Psychology, Social Work, or Sociology & Anthropology) or by Database Type (e.g., Articles, News, or Data/Statistics) in order to do more targeted searches of specific databases.

Locating & Obtaining Books at BC

You can search the BC Library Catalog to locate books for your research. Some will be available electronically through databases like JSTOR; others will be available in print in the BC Law Library or can easily be requested from other BC Libraries.

Interlibrary Loan: Getting Books and Articles from Non-BC Libraries

WorldCat

If the book or journal that you need is not available at a Boston College library, you can request it via Interlibrary Loan using WorldCat, which provides access to materials held by libraries all over the world. Use the Advanced Search option to search by book or journal title.

Placing an ILL Request

Once you have located the book or journal in WorldCat, open the record for that title. Click the blue Request Item button on the right. You will then be prompted to log in with your BC username and password.

Help

Contact the Teaching & Research Librarians at lawresearchhelp@bc.edu if you have any trouble!