LibGuides: Federal Statutes and Legislative Information: US Constitution

Secondary Sources

Secondary sources can help elucidate constitutional provisions. Many books, treatises, and periodicals have been written but the following are a few of the most well-know constitutional law secondary sources.

Encyclopedia of the American Constitution by Leonard W. Levy (Editor); Kenneth L. Karst (Editor)
Call Number: Law Reference Area KF4548 .E53 2000

ISBN: 0028648803

Publication Date: 1905-06-01

This is a 5 volume set containing thousands of articles arranged alphabetically.
American Constitutional Law by Laurence Tribe
Call Number: Law Library Permanent Reserve 2 hours (KF4550 .T785 2000 )

ISBN: 1566627141

Publication Date: 2000

Database and Web Resources for the U.S. Constitution

Database and web resources on the U.S. Constitution.

Westlaw
Offers annotated version of the U.S. Constitution.

Westlaw path: Home > Statutes & Court Rules > United States Code Annotated (USCA) > Constitution of the United States or type United States Constitution into the search box.

Westlaw Classic database identifier: USCA-CONST

Personal passwords are restricted by our contract to currently enrolled law students and law faculty only.
Lexis
Offers annotated version of the U.S. Constitution.

Lexis Advance: Use Browse Sources & search for USCS - Constitution of the United States

Lexis.com: Legal > Federal Legal - U.S. > Find Statutes, Regulations, Administrative Materials & Court Rules > United States Code Service (USCS) Materials > USCS - Constitution of the United States

Personal passwords are restricted by our contract to currently enrolled law students and law faculty only.

GovInfo
Text of U.S. Constitution is available from the federal GovInfo website. This source provides analysis and interpretation from 1992 to 2010, including History, Acts Held Unconstitutional, and Decisions Overruled by Subsequent Decisions.
Law Library of Congress
Offers the United States Constitution plus texts and commentaries, historical texts, and judicial decisions.
HeinOnline
Provides analysis and interpretation plus annotations of cases decided by the Supreme Court through 1982.

CQ Supreme Court Collection (Congressional Quarterly)
Provides the primary source plus commentary, The Supreme Court Explained.

BC Access: Resource is available via computers connected to the BC network. Off-campus access requires a BC username and password, and is available to the BC Community only (current students, faculty and staff.)
Bloomberg Law (BLAW)
Select "Source" from search drop-down menu and choose US Legislative. The Constitution is included in this file.

Registration Required. Register Online.

Print Sources of the U.S. Constitution

Both the United States Code Annotated (catalog record) and the United States Code Service (catalog record) include annotated versions of the Constitution of the United States. These versions of the Constitution will contain the most current annotations of the sources listed in print.

The Constitution of the United States of America by U. S. Constitution, Analysis and Interpretation Staff; Senate Armed Service Committee (Produced by)
Call Number: KF4527 .U54 2004

ISBN: 0160723795

Publication Date: 2005-10-04

This print version of the Library of Congress annotated version listed above is supplemented through 2008.