Criminal Law Research Guide

Three-volume treatise focuses on the ways specific crimes and general principles of criminal law are defined by state statutes and interpreted by the courts. Extensive discussion of the Model Penal Code provides accurate assessment of the statutory particulars of each state, as well as their probable ramifications. Text covers general considerations, sources and general limitations, and basic premises of substantive criminal law. Explores responsibility, justification, and excuse. Also reviews anticipatory offenses, parties, crimes against the person, and crimes relating to property. Available on Westlaw.

Four volume treatise provides specific definitions of existing and emerging types of crimes such as incest, rape, obscenity, homicide, false imprisonment, kidnapping, forgery, libel, and solicitation. Discusses distinctions of various defenses. Provides precise, structural analysis of each basic criminal law principle, including its roots, developments, and present status. Illustrates provisions of the American Law Institute’s Model Penal Code. In addition, provides instant access to primary and secondary sources relating to a case. Available on Westlaw.

Systematic and comprehensive analysis of contemporary Fourth Amendment issues involving search and seizure. Available on Westlaw.

Thirty-four volume set that covers virtually every aspect of criminal practice, from investigation to sentencing. Citations to federal and state jurisdictions. Updated quarterly. Available on Westlaw.

Seven volume series provides step-by-step direction through the typical state court criminal justice system. This set focuses on the pattern used by most states from pre-arrest to pre-trial, trial, post-conviction, and on to appellate proceedings. Covers search and seizure, including further limitations on exclusionary rule, dynamics affecting search warrant execution, and Fourth Amendment restrictions on use of force in arrest; confessions, including scope and application of Miranda Rule, Sixth Amendment right to counsel, and traditional voluntariness test; accusatory pleadings; sentencing; and habeas corpus. Available on Westlaw.

Practice handbook aimed at defense attorneys. Emphasis is on federal practice but also intended as a state primer. Includes chapters on bail and arraignment, grand jury practice, sample motions, jury issues, opening and closing statements, direct and cross-examination, sentencing and appeals. Print only.

Published by the National Institute for Trial Advocacy, this text provides practical guidance for attorneys during each stage of a criminal case from the police investigation immediately following the crime to issues involving the double jeopardy clause. The book interprets constitutional principles and case law, and provides commentary that applies to both the prosecution and defense in federal, state, or military courts.

Covers all aspects of federal grand jury practice: convening a grand jury, secrecy issues, evidentiary issues, ethical issues, and so on. Westlaw.

Ten-volume set with coverage from pretrial to appeal; includes chapters specifically devoted to murder, drunk driving, obscenity, kidnapping, rape and other sex crimes, securities cases, and more. Lexis Advance.

Contains more than 1,000 federal and state criminal forms from pretrial to appeal. Print set no longer updated; available on Westlaw.

Print and Lexis Advance

Print and Westlaw