LibGuides: Criminal Law Research Guide: Massachusetts secondary sources

Massachusetts Continuing Legal Education Titles--Electronic Access

MCLE titles are available through Lexis, Westlaw, and through MCLE's online platform. They tend to be easiest to use on Lexis and the MCLE platform.

MCLE OnlinePass This link opens in a new window
Provides unlimited access to all available online content from MCLE (Massachusetts Continuing Legal Education) including on-demand webcasts, downloadable MP3 audio programs, MCLE's entire collection of practice manuals, and over 400 ebooks, as well as all content in MCLE's professional development plans. (BC Law Access)

Lexis (MCLE materials)
Lexis's collection of MCLE practice guides is easily searchable and browseable. It includes all of the individual MCLE titles listed below.

Massachusetts Prosecutor's Guide

Massachusetts Criminal Law: A Prosecutor's Guide This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive analysis of Massachusetts criminal law and courtroom practice. The online text links to a database of Massachusetts court decisions maintained by the Commonwealth's Trial Court Law Libraries at masscases.com. The text also cites and discusses significant criminal law cases decided by the Supreme Court, the federal Courts of Appeals, and state appellate courts from around the country. The principal focus is on Massachusetts criminal law and criminal law cases prosecuted in the District and Superior Courts of the Commonwealth. (BC Law Access)

Major Criminal Law Resources in Massachusetts

Suppression Matters under Massachusetts Law by Joseph A. Grasso; Christine M. McEvoy
Call Number: Law Course Reserve and Law General Collection KFM2980 .A15 S87
Publication Date: New edition annually
Print and Lexis Advance.
Criminal Practice and Procedure (Massachusetts Practice Series, v. 30-30B) by Kent B. Smith
Call Number: Law Massachusetts Collection and Permanent Reserve KFM2480 .M3 v.30-30B 2007
Publication Date: Updated annually
Print and Westlaw
Criminal Law (Massachusetts Practice Series, v. 32) by Joseph R. Nolan, Laurie J. Sartorio
Call Number: Law Massachusetts Collection and Permanent Reserve KFM2480 .M3 v.32 2001
Publication Date: Updated annually
Print and Westlaw
Motions in Limine (Massachusetts Practice Series, v. 54) by Bethany R. Scheffler, David N. Finley
Call Number: Law Massachusetts Collection and Permanent Reserve KFM2480 .M3 v.54
Publication Date: Updated annually
Print and Westlaw
Drunk Driving Defense (Massachusetts Practice Series, v. 50) by Stephen L. Jones
Call Number: Law Massachusetts Collection and Permanent Reserve KFM2480 .M3 v.50
Publication Date: Updated annually
Print and Westlaw
Criminal Defense Motions (Massachusetts Practice Series, v. 42) by Victoria L. Nadel; Roger Witkin
Call Number: Law Massachusetts Collection & Permanent Reserve KFM2480 .M3 v.42 2003
Publication Date: Updated annually
Available in print and on Westlaw
Massachusetts Criminal Law Sourcebook and Citator (MCLE) by R. Marc Kantrowitz
Call Number: Law Massachusetts KFM2961.A29 M374
Publication Date: New edition issued regularly
Available via MCLE OnlinePass, Lexis, and Westlaw
Crime and Consequence: The Collateral Effects of Criminal Conduct (MCLE) by William J. Meade (Editor)
Call Number: Law Massachusetts Collection KFM2962 .C75 2013
ISBN: 1575897903
Publication Date: 2013-08-31
Print, MCLEOnline Pass, Lexis, Westlaw.
Massachusetts District Court Criminal Defense Manual (MCLE) by Cathleen L. Bennett, ed.
Publication Date: 2016
Available via MCLE OnlinePass, Lexis, and Westlaw
CPCS Training Manual for Criminal Defense (MCLE) by Jane L. White
Call Number: Law Massachusetts Collection KFM2975 .W55 2010
ISBN: 157589601X
Publication Date: 2010-08-30
Massachusetts Superior Court Criminal Practice Manual (MCLE) by Robert H. Bohn; Carol S. Ball; David A. Angier
Call Number: Law Massachusetts Collection KFM2975 .M386 2014
ISBN: 1575890739
Publication Date: 2014
Available in print and electronically on Lexis, Westlaw, and MCLE OnlinePass.
Massachusetts Superior Court Criminal Practice Jury Instructions (MCLE)
Publication Date: Revised edition 2018
Available on Lexis, Westlaw, and MCLEOnlinePass
Criminal Model Jury instructions for Use in the District Court (MCLE) by District Court Dept. of the Trial Court, Administrative Office of the District Court.
Publication Date: Revised 2018
Available on mass.gov, MCLE OnlinePass, Lexis, and Westlaw
Handbook of Massachusetts Evidence by Mark S. Brodin, Michael Avery
Call Number: Law Massachusetts Collection and Permanent Reserve KFM2940 .H36
ISBN: 0735560625
Publication Date: Annual edition
Available in print and via VitalLaw
Massachusetts Guide to Evidence by Supreme Judicial Court Advisory Committee on Massachusetts Evidence Law.
This source is updated annually and is freely available on the web.
Massachusetts Evidence: A Courtroom Reference (MCLE) by J. W. Carney (Editor)
Call Number: Law Permanent Reserve Criminal Justice Clinic KFM2940 .M36423
ISBN: 1575896478
Publication Date: 2018 ed/
Available in print and electronically on Lexis, Westlaw, and MCLE OnlinePass.
Massachusetts Proof of Cases by Mark G. Perlin
Call Number: Law Massachusetts Collection KFM2940 .M6
Publication Date: Updated regularly
Volume 2 covers general aspects of crimes, as well as specific crimes. Volume 3 deals with evidentiary issues. Available on Westlaw.

Criminal Law Research Guide

Find Books & Other Materials at BC

Resources for Other Jurisdictions

Massachusetts Continuing Legal Education Titles--Electronic Access

Massachusetts Prosecutor's Guide

Major Criminal Law Resources in Massachusetts