Islamic Law Research: Major Print and Electronic Resources

Comprehensive, multivolume reference source now available electronically to the BC community.

From publisher: an encyclopaedic dictionary of qur’ānic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur’ānic studies. The Encyclopaedia of the Qur’ān Online is the first comprehensive, multivolume reference work on the Qur’ān to appear in a Western language.

This dictionary focuses primarily on the 19th and 20th centuries, stressing topics of most interest to Westerners in a highly informative look at the religious, political, and social spheres of the modern Islamic world. Entries include biographical profiles, major political movements, militant groups, and religious sects as well as terms from Islamic law, culture, and religion, key historical events, and important landmarks such as Mecca and Medina.

Not a single book, but rather a database that includes many important reference titles, such as The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, and two Oxford World's Classics versions of the Qur'an: M.A.S. Abdel Haleem's The Qur'an, a prose translation, and The Koran Interpreted, a renowned verse translation by A.J. Arberry.

From publisher: The first half of the book is devoted to a discussion of Islamic law in its pre-modern natural habitat. The second part explains how the law was transformed and ultimately dismantled during the colonial period. In the final chapters, the author charts recent developments and the struggles of the Islamists to negotiate changes which have seen the law emerge as a primarily textual entity focused on fixed punishments and ritual requirements. The book, which includes a chronology, a glossary of key terms, and lists of further reading, will be the first stop for those who wish to understand the fundamentals of Islamic law, its practices and history.

Outlines large selection of extant legal works of the most important Shi'i jurists from the inception of Shi'i legal thought to the present era. Book Review.

Translation of one of the best-known academic works of the late Ayatollah Sayyid Muhammad Baqir al-Sadr (1934-80). Written in plain language to introduce beginners to the science of the principles of Islamic jurisprudence, it is the first book in a series, organized in three levels of depth and comprehensiveness, to help readers gradually understand the subject. Originally entitled durus fi 'ilm al-usul (Discourses in Jurisprudence), but normally known as halaqat al-usul (Courses in Jurisprudence), the book was a revolutionary attempt to renovate the teaching material and curriculum of Shi'i seminaries throughout the world. Indeed, in many teaching centers it replaced the standard text al-ma'alim, by Shaykh Hasan b. Shahid al-Thani, which had been taught to students of jurisprudence since the 12thcentury AH.

From publisher: comprehensive and accessible examination of Shari'ah Law; examines the sources, characteristic features and various schools of thought of Shari'ah law; includes bibliography, glossary, and extensive index of Arabic quotations.

Ramadan brings together articles to give an overview of the formation of Islamic law and its role in contemporary Islamic and Non-Islamic states. Following an overview of Islamic Law, chapters cover Islamic criminal law, International Humanitarian Law, contract law, & family law. A concluding essay offers an explanation of the legal value of Islam and appendices include original Islamic legal documents from Muhammad's time until today.