LibGuides: Children and the Law: General

Juvenile Justice Journals

American Journal of Family Law (Aspen Publishers)
Also available in Academic OneFile (2001-)

Children's Legal Rights Journal (Loyola University)
Also available in HeinOnline

Family Law Quarterly (ABA Section on Family Law)
Also available in HeinOnline (1967-), Lexis (199-) and Academic OneFile (2007-)

International Journal of Law, Policy, and the Family (Oxford Journals)
Also available in HeinOnline (1987-2008), Oxford University Press Journals (1996-), and Lexis (1998-)

Journal of Juvenile Law
Also available in HeinOnline (1977-), EBSCOhost Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text (1997-2007), and Lexis (1999-)

Journal of Law & Family Studies (University of Utah)
Also available in HeinOnline (1999-), Lexis (1999-2008), and DOAJ Directory of Open Access Journals (2007-)

Juvenile and Family Court Journal (National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges)
Also available in HeinOnline (1949-2009), Wiley Online Library 2010 Full Collection (1997-), and Lexis (2005-)

U.C. Davis Journal of Juvenile Law & Policy (UC Davis School of Law)
Also available in HeinOnline (1996-), Lexis (2001-). and Westlaw (1996-)

Newsletters

Family Advocate (ABA Section on Family Law)
Also available on HeinOnline, Lexis and Westlaw.

Family Law eNewsletter (ABA Section on Family Law)

OJJDP News (Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention)

Finding Articles on Lexis, Westlaw, and Hein Online

On Lexis Advance, you can limit your search to secondary sources and area of law before using the main search bar. Once in your search results it is possible to filter the results to Law Reviews and Journals.

On Westlaw, you can limit your search to law reviews by choosing Secondary Sources and then Law Reviews & Journals under All Content.

HeinOnline is a useful database for finding older journal articles and for articles in PDF. Access HeinOnline from the Law Library Databases page and search for articles in the Law Journal Library.

General Juvenile Justice Treatises

Juvenile Justice by Francine Sherman; Francine Jacobs
Call Number: LAW HV9104 .J864 2011
ISBN: 0470497041
Publication Date: 2011-10-04
"This edited volume brings together experts in juvenile justice, child development, and public health to explore the connections between juvenile justice and child health and wellbeing" - Publisher
Understanding Juvenile Law by Martin R. Gardner
Call Number: Law Permanent Reserve KF9780 .G37 2009
ISBN: 9780769891231
Publication Date: 2014-02-01
Children's Rights Under the Law by Samuel M. Davis
Call Number: KF9479 .D385 2011
ISBN: 0199795487
Publication Date: 2011-04-15
Good one volume treatise that gives a broad overview of children's rights.
Representing the Child Client by Mark Solar; ALice Shotton
Call Number: Law General Collection KF479 .Z9 R46 1987
Publication Date: 1987-01-01
This multi-volume looseleaf treatise is also available on LexisNexis. On Lexis Advance type the title into the main search box to add this source to your search.
Children and the Law: Rights and Obligations by Thomas A. Jacobs
Call Number: Westlaw
Publication Date: 2012
This multi-volume looseleaf covers many topics including: children’s legal rights, child welfare, termination of parental rights, child custody and support, guardianship, juvenile delinquency, dependency and severance, adoption, education, domestic relations, and health care. Chapter 2 deals with Protection of Children and several other chapters touch on welfare issues. This publication is also available on Westlaw, on Westlaw type the title into the main search bar to access this treatise. Use the TOC on Westlaw to find pertinent sections. This title is also available on Lexis.
Rights of juveniles : the juvenile justice system by Samuel M. Davis
Call Number: KF9794 .D382 and on Westlaw
Publication Date: 2004
Looseleaf updated annually; also available on Westlaw, type title into the main search bar.

Databases Available to BC Law Students

Lexis:

On Lexis Advance, limit your search by using the dropdown menus under the main search box. For example, depending on the juvenile justice issue you are researching, you could limit to criminal or family law (or both). Lexis Advance, has a number of helpful resources including Massachusetts Continuing Legal Eduction (MCLE) materials, the Annotated Laws of Massachusetts, select Massachusetts administrative agency decisions, and general treatises, such as Rapp's Education Law. (Individual Password Required)

Westlaw:

On Westlaw, you can scroll to materials organized by area of law using the "Practice Areas" tab. Westlaw, has the Massachusetts General Laws Annotated, select Massachusetts administrative agency decisions, Massachusetts treatises, such as the Massachusetts Practice series & MCLE materials, and general treatises, such as Legal Rights of Children. (Individual Password Required)

Government Web Sources

Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention
The OJJDP is the federal agency that provides national leadership, coordination, and resources to prevent and respond to juvenile delinquency and victimization. The resources include newsletters, topical pages with OJJDP program information, funding guidelines, statistical information, and searchable publications.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service - Juvenile Justice Topics
This page has resources including FAQs and publications on the following topics: child protection/health; corrections/detention; delinquency prevention; gender/race/ethnicity; juvenile courts; juvenile delinquency; schools; and victims.
National Conference of State Legislatures - Juvenile Justice
Overview of juvenile justice in the 50 states including access to the Juvenile Justice Quarterly newsletter and current bill tracking database.
National Center for State Courts Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Guide
This page collects a great number of online resources having to do with juvenile justice. Included in this list are materials that focus on mental health, juveniles tried as adults and juvenile court & case management.

National Organizations

Center for Children's Law and Policy
"The CCLP is a public interest law and policy organization focused on reform of juvenile justice and other systems that affect troubled and at-risk children, and protection of the rights of children in those systems." The resources page includes a number of juvenile justice resources broken down by topic.
Juvenile Law Center
A national public interest law firm working to challenge laws, policies, or practices that harm children or to enforce children’s rights. The Juvenile Law Center page includes a resources page with publications, fact sheets, and podcasts.
IJA/ABA Juvenile Justice Committee
This web page includes the Committee newsletter, IJA-ABA Juvenile Justice Standards, and links to other resources.
ACLU Juvenile Justice Page
This pages includes links to ACLU resources such as a current awareness articles, reports and court cases.
Campaign for Youth Justice
Resources include state snapshots, policy briefs, reports, and a list of resources from other organizations.
Annie E. Casey Foundation
"The Annie E. Casey Foundation is a private charitable organization, dedicated to helping build better futures for disadvantaged children in the United States." Under the category "Our Work" is information on the foundations juvenile justice initiatives. Also has a useful data center, Kids Count Data Center, that includes data on health, family, education, safety and other topics.

Children and the Law

Find Books & Other Materials at BC

Ask a Librarian