LibGuides: Massachusetts Legal Research: Administrative Law

Massachusetts Agencies - Chart

Chart of Massachusetts Government including administrative agencies.

Secondary Sources on Administrative Law in Massachusetts

Massachusetts Administrative Law and Practice by Michele E. Randazzo and John R. Hitt
Call Number: KFM2840 .L49
Publication Date: 2014
Administrative Law and Practice (Massachusetts Practice Series, volumes 38-40) by Alexander J. Cella
Call Number: KFM2480 .M3 v.38-40 1986 (Permanent Reserve and Massachusetts Collection)
Publication Date: 1986, updated annually

Massachusetts Regulations - Online

Bloomberg Law (BLAW) This link opens in a new window
Bloomberg Law includes the Code of Massachusetts Regulations and the Massachusetts Register.
Registration Required. Register Online.
Lexis This link opens in a new window
Massachusetts Register and Code of Massachusetts Regulations are both available on the LexisNexis website.
Personal passwords are restricted by our contract to currently enrolled law students and law faculty only.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Code of Massachusetts Regulations and Massachusetts Regulations Tracking
Personal passwords are restricted by our contract to currently enrolled law students and law faculty only.

Code of Massachusetts Regulations
Code of Massachusetts Regulations posted by the Massachusetts Court System.
NOTE: This is not the official Code of Massachusetts Regulations. This file is only those regulations posted on the individual agency's website and then copied by the Court System. If an agency's regulations are not posted on its website, those regulations are not contained in the Court System's link.

Massachusetts Regulations - Print

Massachusetts Register. by Boston: Secretary of the Commonwealth.
Law Massachusetts Collection KFM 2434.5 M3x; Current issues-Law Permanent Reserve. A biweekly publication that includes new administrative agency regulations, executive branch documents and Attorney General opinions.
Code of Massachusetts Regulations (CMR). by Boston: Secretary of the Commonwealth
Call Number: Law Permanent Reserve KFM 2435 1986 .A213
Publication Date: 1986-.
The source for administrative regulations currently in force, arranged by agency. A one-volume loose leaf index is available at Law Permanent Reserve.

Agency Decisions - Online

Listed below are the various services which provide the full text of administrative agency decisions and adjudications.

Massachusetts Agency Opinions
The Law Library subscribes to the Social Law Library’s database of opinions. Select Social Law Library from the database list here. If you are accessing the list from off-campus, enter your BC credentials at the prompt.

Lexis This link opens in a new window
Find administrative agency decisions on Lexis.com by using the following breadcrumb trail: Legal > States Legal - U.S. > Massachusetts > Find Statutes, Regulations, Administrative Materials & Court Rules > By Administration Materials.

Find Mass. administrative agency decisions on LexisAdvance by selecting content type Administrative Materials, jurisdiction Massachusetts. You may choose whether to limit to a certain practice area or select all practice areas.
Personal passwords are restricted by our contract to currently enrolled law students and law faculty only.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Massachusetts administrative agency decisions

Westlaw Classic: All Databases > U.S. State Materials > Massachusetts > Administrative & Executive Materials

Westlaw: Home > Administrative Decisions & Guidance > Massachusetts Administrative Decisions & Guidance
Personal passwords are restricted by our contract to currently enrolled law students and law faculty only.

Agency Decisions - Print

Listed below are the various services which provide the full text of administrative agency decisions and adjudications.

Massachusetts Appellate Tax Board Reporter. by Boston: Butterworth Legal Publishers.
Call Number: Law Massachusetts Collection KFM 2871.5 A82
Publication Date: Vol. 1-, 1982-.
Massachusetts Civil Service Reporter. by Weston, MA: New England Legal Publishers.
Call Number: Law Massachusetts Collection KFM 2835 .A35 M37x 1989
Publication Date: Vol. 1-, 1989.
Provides coverage of Civil Service Commission decisions.
DEP Reporter: Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection Administrative Law Decisions. by Belmont, MA: Massachusetts Landlaw.
Call Number: Law Massachusetts Collection KFM 2758 .A812
Publication Date: Vol. 1-, 1994-.
Provides coverage of Environmental Protection Department decisions.
Massachusetts Discrimination Law Reporter. by Boston: Massachusetts Labor Relations Reporter.
Call Number: Law Massachusetts Collection KFM 2811 .A6 M37x
Publication Date: Vol. 1, 1979-.
Provides coverage of Commission against Discrimination decisions.
Massachusetts Environmental Law Reports. by Boston: Atlantic Legal Publishers.
Call Number: Law Massachusetts Collection KFM 2754 .A8
Publication Date: Vol. 1-, 1983-1994.
Provides coverage of Department of Environmental Protection decisions from 1983-1994.
Massachusetts Labor Cases. by Weston, MA: New England Legal Publishers.
Call Number: Law Massachusetts Collection KFM 2731 .A555
Publication Date: Vol. 1-, 1974-.
Provides coverage of Massachusetts Labor Commission decisions.
Massachusetts Labor Relations Reporter: MLRR. by Wellesley, MA: Massachusetts Labor Relations Reporter.
Call Number: Law Massachusetts Collection KFM 2731 .A6 M37x
Publication Date: Vol. 1-,1974-.
Provides coverage of Labor Relations Commission decisions and labor relations cases from the Massachusetts courts.
Massachusetts Special Education Reporter. by Belmont, MA: Mass. LandLaw
Call Number: Massachusetts Collection KFM2795.9 .H3 M37
Publication Date: Vol. 1-, 1995-.
Provides coverage of Mass. Bureau of Special Education Appeals decisions.

Attorney General Opinions - Online

Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Attorney General opinions since the mid-1970s.
Personal passwords are restricted by our contract to currently enrolled law students and law faculty only.
Lexis This link opens in a new window
Attorney General opinions since the mid-1970s.
Personal passwords are restricted by our contract to currently enrolled law students and law faculty only.

Attorney General Opinions - Print

Annual Report of the Attorney General. by Boston: Attorney General’s Office.
Call Number: Law Massachusetts Collection KFM 2840 .A555
Opinions are included along with the annual report. Current opinions are published in the issues of the Massachusetts Register.
Massachusetts Attorney General Opinions. by Boston: Wright & Potter.
Call Number: Law Massachusetts Collection KFM 2840 .A553
Publication Date: Vol. 1-8, 1891-1929.
This eight-volume set is the only compilation of Attorney General opinions ever published.

Massachusetts Legal Research

Find Books & Other Materials at BC

Ask a Librarian