It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This HeinOnline library contains books and treatises, tribal constitutions, tribal acts and by-laws, legislative histories, Title 25 of the United States Code, Title 25 of the Code of Federal Regulations, law journal and scholarly articles devoted to Native American law, as well as links to approximately 25 useful free websites.
This website publishes the Indian Law Bulletin, a current awareness service of new and emerging issues in Native American law in the three branches of the federal government, in state courts, and in legal scholarship. In addition, it maintains the Tribal Law Gateway, an amazing portal to the constitutions, tribal codes and tribal court decisions of Native American tribes throughout the United States. It also maintains helpful research guides to various topics in Native American law such as citizenship and border passage, sacred sites, water rights, and the Indian Child Welfare Act.
Lexis Plus: In the Native American Practice Area, you will find Felix Cohen’s Handbook of Federal Indian Law, which is widely regarded as the definitive treatise of Native American law, is available electronically on Lexis Advance. In addition, there is the database of Native American People’s Treaties, Ratified and Unratified, Board of Indian Appeals decisions, historical Native American Solicitor’s Opinions, and tribal cases and tribal codes for selective tribes.
Personal passwords are restricted by our contract to currently enrolled law students and law faculty only.
Westlaw maintains a practice area with Native American treaties, federal cases, statutes and regulations concerning Native American law, the U.S. Department of Interior’s Board of Indian Appeals decisions, an enormous selection of tribal codes and tribal cases, and several Native American law treatises.
Searching historical government documents
Federal documents are excellent sources for researching Native American legal issues.
The American State Papers (coverage years: 1789-1838; this source contains the full-text of legislative and executive branch documents and it is a searchable database)