Best resource for pending or recent cases. Docket sheets from 2001 term-present. Links to most filings from November 2017-present. Search by party name or docket number. To receive alerts on docket activity, click the envelope icon at the top of the docket sheet.
Content is the same as the Supreme Court website, but dockets are searchable by keyword and multiple filters are available. Filter by court. Once on a docket sheet, you can update and track the docket.
Example: Bostock v. Georgia, 590 U.S. 644 (2020). If there's a decision in your case, pull up the case on Westlaw by citation, and make use of the Filings tab to find briefs, motions, pleadings, and links to docket sheets.
Example: Bostock v. Georgia, 590 U.S. 644 (2020). If there's a decision in your case, pull up the case on Lexis+ by citation, and click the Filings tab along the top. Then filter to briefs, pleadings, and motions, or to dockets.
Historical SCOTUS Records & Briefs
Some older briefs and court filings will be freely available online, so it's worth running a search before trying these options:
Merit & amicus briefs filed with SCOTUS (1931 to present, select coverage prior); petitions for writ of certiorari and related documents (1985-present, select coverage prior), and joint appendices (1982-present).
Covers 1832-1978. Includes transcripts, applications for review, motions, petitions, supplements, and other official papers of the most-studied and talked-about cases, including many that resulted in landmark decisions.
From 1985 to present, all briefs filed by the Solicitor General, except responses to in forma pauperis cases. From 1993-1996 and 1986-1990 Solicitor General merits briefs and responses. From 1982-1985 Solicitor General merits briefs. Please see the web site for information on omissions, arrangement, and formats.
Print publication that reprints the records, briefs, and arguments for selected major constitutional cases from 1793-1973, with supplemental volumes thereafter. Worth checking for constitutional law cases in date ranges that aren't available in other sources.
Audio recordings of oral arguments back to 1968, with spotty availability earlier. Filter by term, and then browse for your case of interest. Digitized from copies of the official argument tapes held by the National Archives.
This print publication includes oral argument transcripts for selected major constitutional cases from 1793-1973, with supplemental volumes thereafter.
Covers the history of written argument in U.S. appellate proceedings (whether or not termed "briefs"), with specific sections on the U.S. Supreme Court and Massachusetts and New York state appellate courts.
