LibGuides: Dockets, Briefs, and Court Filings Research: Other State Dockets

Overview of State Dockets

The extent of easily available docket materials varies widely from state to state and, within a state, from court to court. Try multiple sites and tactics before giving up! Start with a freely available site (usually provided by the court); then move to a subscription database such as Bloomberg, Westlaw, Trellis, or Lexis. Remember that PACER only has federal dockets—not state.

Finding Dockets & Filings

Before using subscription databases, it's worth trying a couple of different tactics:

Do a quick web search for your state, the word docket, and the court of interest, e.g., California dockets alameda county superior court, to find publicly available docket resources.
Look for a research guide from a law library in your jurisdiction, e.g. Berkeley Law Library's Dockets guide has a page about California state court dockets.

Trellis
Select docket coverage for 45 states + DC (AL, KY, MS, UT, and WY currently aren't covered). Check the coverage menu for your jurisdiction; tends to be best for civil cases. Some underlying filings are available.
Westlaw Dockets
Browse to your state court for more information on coverage, and use fields to search. Use update button to update your docket sheet. Any available pleadings, motions, briefs, etc. should be listed under the Filings tab. No tracking available.
Bloomberg Law Dockets (State)
Coverage information for state courts. Usually, the access to underlying court filings is limited. Docket tracking and updating available to BC Law users.
CourtLink (via Lexis)
Check the "Court Information" and "Court Availability" links under the search bar for coverage information. Browse for your court, and use the fields to tailor your search. No tracking or updating through the BC Law subscription.
Westlaw: Trial Court Documents
Selected pleadings, motions, jury instruction filings, exhibits, and interrogatories from selected state trial courts, United States District Courts and United States Bankruptcy Courts. For specific coverage details, see the scope information on the individual pages. Coverage is for civil cases only.
Westlaw: Briefs
Coverage varies by state. Click into your jurisdiction, and use the information "i" icon to find more specific information on what briefs are including.
Lexis: Briefs, Pleading and Motions
Coverage varies by state. No docket sheets, but selected court filings such as briefs, pleadings, and motions filed with state appellate and trial courts. Search fields include party name, court, judge, and attorney name.