LibGuides: Researching Your Career: General Legal Job Search Resources

In-House Legal Departments

ALM Law.com Compass

American Lawyer Media's Law.com Compass - Lawyer Search allows you to search for lawyers working in Corporate Legal Departments. You can search by company name and by information contained in the lawyer's biography, including law school, bar admission or title. For assistance with advanced searches, contact one of the Teaching & Research Librarians.

Bloomberg Law's Business Intelligence Center

Bloomberg Law's Business Intelligence Center lets you look up a company and learn about its business and financials.

Business & Legal Directories

Bar Association Directory
The Bar Association Directory contains information on state, local and specialized bar associations in the United States.
Chambers Associate
Chambers Associate is a directory of law firms and provides additional facts and figures on firms including diversity, regional presence and associate satisfaction.
GuideStar Premium
Guidestar provides access to information on non-profits. You can search by location, services provided, and size of organization. GuideStar also lets you search for named employees. Profiles of the organizations include financial data, a summary of organizational goals and activities and lists of board members and executives.
Leadership Connect
Leadership Connect provides profiles on organizations working in the public sector, included federal and state governments, courts, lobbying and law firms, companies and nonprofit organizations. You can also search for individuals working in those organizations by name, location or education.
Martindale Hubbell
Martindale-Hubbell is a national directory of lawyers and law firms. There is a main search box but if you select the menu, there are options to search by law school alumni, location and practice area.
NALP Directory of Legal Employers
The NALP Directory of Legal Employers is a searchable database that contains information on law firms, government agencies, public interest organizations, and corporations and includes information on lawyer demographics, practice areas, compensation and benefits, and diversity and inclusion practices
S&P Capital IQ NetAdvantage
Available through the University Library, S&P Capital IQ NetAdvantage provides information on both public and private companies. There is a screening function that allows you to identify companies within a geographic location or industry.

Identify Massachusetts Legal Employers

Boston Business Journal (Online)
Online version of The Boston business journal, covering the economy of Greater Boston. Includes feature stories from the print edition, as well as special features such as the Business Briefs column, the weekly Business Calendar, a section on emerging businesses in the Boston area, commentaries from Massachusetts officials, and Boston area business news updates.
List of Massachusetts Bar Associations
This list contains links to specialized and local bar associations in Massachusetts.
MassBio Member Director
The Mass Biotechnology Council is and organization working to promote the biotechnology industry and provides opportunities for collaboration and networking.