To activate your pre-registered account, click on the “Forgot password?” and enter your email in the format of firstname.lastname@bc.edu. You will immediately receive an email from the Times prompting you to create a password.
Full-text access to national and world news with coverage on a rolling basis for the previous 15 years. Use the BC Libraries' link (above) or a VPN connection to access the website. Registration is not required.
There are a number of newspaper sources detailed in this Guide in which the articles are available in PDF format. This PDF format is a scanned copy of the original document; the pagination is exactly the same. Please note that if you locate a PDF version of a document, there is no need to track down a print version of the same document.
Boston College Newspaper Databases
These links represent the most requested newspapers here at BC Law Library:
Factiva provides access to current-day and archival content from U.S. and international newspapers. Note that the article text is not displayed in PDF format. The initial page cite for the newspaper article is provided. See Bluebook Rule 16.6(d) for an example of a citation to a newspaper article on Factiva.
BC Access: Resource is available via computers connected to the BC network. Off-campus access requires a BC username and password, and is available to the BC Community only (current students, faculty and staff.)
Newsbank provides access from 1982 to the present with a 30 day embargo. No PDF images are available but first page number is indicated. On Newsbank, search Financial Times (Archive) as the source for full-text articles. Note that most recent 30 days of newspaper are embargoed; only the headlines will be retrieved.
Nexis Uni provides access from June 1980-present. No scanned images of newspaper provided. Includes current day's newspaper. Basic and advanced searching techniques are supported.
ProQuest Digital Microfilm provides access to scanned microfilmed images of current newspapers. No searching capability provided; users may browse newspapers by publication title, date and page.
Coverage varies by vendor:
Factiva includes some articles from WSJ from 1995 - present.
Westlaw provides abstracts only of WSJ articles from May 1973-present.
Coverage varies by vendor:
Academic OneFile has content from April 2012 - present.
Factiva includes some articles from WP from 1995 - present.
ProQuest Digital Microfilm contains PDF version of the newspaper from 2008-present, but lacks the most recent 2 months. Use PressDisplay for the most recent 60 days of WP.
Westlaw provides articles from 1978-present. Westlaw also has content from washingtonpost.com from Feb. 2012-present.
