Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Help

Library Liaison Program

The Teaching & Research Department (T&R) supports faculty research and instruction by providing each faculty member with a dedicated research librarian. Your Library Liaison will periodically meet with you to gather information about your current research projects, explore ways in which we can help you in your classroom instruction, and determine what other assistance can be of the greatest help to you. Your Liaison will be responsible for staying abreast of your teaching and research interests to help you, your students and your research assistants be aware of pertinent research sources and how to use them effectively.

Research Support

Below is a list of the type of assistance the T&R Department provides to BC Law Faculty:

  • Research support and consultation for teaching and scholarship
  • Research consultations with your students in support of class assignments
  • Guest lectures on research topics in doctrinal classes
  • Training for your research assistants on library resources and procedures
  • Database evaluation and training

For research assistance, contact your assigned Library Liaison. If you do not know who your liaison is, you can:

  • Submit a research request
  • Email the T&R Department (lawresearchhelp@bc.edu)
  • Live Chat with a reference librarian
  • Call 617-552-2971

Research Databases

The BC Law Library subscribes to a variety of law databases and sources for legal literature. In addition, the Boston College University Libraries provide access to databases containing a wide range of academic literature. Links to some of the more popular databases are included below along with links to the lists of all available databases at the Law School and University Libraries.

Legal Databases

Legal Literature 
Academic Literature

Other Helpful Law Library Information

Educational Technology

Our Administrative & Technology Resources (ATR) department provides educational technology resources for successfully integrating technology and online learning with the classroom experience. You can view the resource available here.

Faculty Scholarship

The Collection Services & Digital Initiatives (CSDI) department is committed to helping BC Law faculty promote and disseminate their publications. This page provides information on the services provided.

Course Reserves

The Law Library manages course reserves for Law School courses. The library automatically places on reserve any required titles ordered through the Law School Book Store. Additional information on other types of materials that can be placed on reserve and the procedures for submitting course reserve requests is available here.

New Acquisitions 

Each month the Collection Services & Digital Initiatives (CSDI) department posts a new acquisitions list that can be used to find the Law Library's newest resources.

Book Delivery

The Collection Services & Digital Initiatives (CSDI) department  provides a book delivery service. To have a book or article from the Law Library's collection delivered to your office, send an e-mail to the Information Desk (lawcirc@bc.edu). If you need a book immediately it is best to phone the Information Desk at 617-552-4434. The item will be delivered within the hour if possible. It also is possible to request a book via the online Catalog, which will then be delivered to your faculty mailbox.